Keepin’ it Real {Author Interview with Huntley Fitzpatrick}

keepin it real 612x612

I am so excited to participate in this amazing event! Thank you Kaitlin @ Reading is My Treasure and Eli @ RealityLapse for hosting! For more information, click the banner above and you’ll be transferred to the kick-off page.

Interview Questions

1. What inspired you to write My Life Next Door?

So many things came together to make me want to write that book. I majored in English lit and Shakespeare, so a bit of Romeo and Juliet—although that is something of a sad and fractured story and I like it all to work, will always be a fan of happy endings. Also, I wanted to write about someone who was a watcher, an onlooker, and then had to become part of the story.

2. Do you see yourself in Samantha?

I do see myself in Samantha, although I can honestly say I see myself in every character, even the awful ones. What I like about Sam is that she doesn’t easily and comfortably fit into the role she’s assigned. She’s a quiet and careful rebel.

3. Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

Favorite author is always a tough one for me. There are so many. Springing to mind, in YA, are Deb Caletti, Sarah Dessen, John Green, David Levithan—and backing up, Madeleine L’Engle, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Carol Ryrie Brink. I love the honest and unexpected, the funny, straightforward and real.

4. What was the hardest part of writing your book?

The hardest part was writing the arguments, the missed connections. I wince at that in real life and it was truly difficult to have my characters screw up and let one another down.

5. Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

My interest in writing began with reading E.B. White. Unbelievably clear, straightforward, true as an arrow. My father read me all his books when I was five, and the whole way through all I could think was “I want to do this. I want to tell the truth like this.

6. Any advice to aspiring writers?

Advice?  to read, read, read. To write a journal without self-criticism or editing. To finish everything you start and try out different styles.

7. Can you share a little of The Boy Most Likely To, the sequel to My Life Next Door?

THE BOY MOST LIKELY TO is the story of Tim Mason, the bad boy secondary character from MY LIFE NEXT DOOR. Tim has spent his whole life never seeing himself as a hero, evading consequences. In this book, that all comes home to roost. 

 

Author Huntley FitzpatrickHuntley Fitzpatrick

Huntley Fitzpatrick grew up dreamy and distracted in coastal Connecticut, attended Concord Academy and Yale. She flourished in a family of bookworms where the library was always the most important room in the house. She kept an exhaustively thorough journal which frightened her boyfriends but has proved very useful in her career as a writer. Her debut contemporary Romance, MY LIFE NEXT DOOR, will be published in June of 2012 by Penguin-Dial for Young Readers. Now she laughs with and eavesdrops on her six children who provide her with perspective and material.

 

17 thoughts on “Keepin’ it Real {Author Interview with Huntley Fitzpatrick}

  1. Great interview! I love getting into the minds of the authors and learning how they write and what they think of their stories. I haven’t read My Life Next Door yet, but it’s sitting on my shelf, waiting for me to find the time. I can’t wait; I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it. 🙂

  2. I loved My Life Next Door so much!! It’s one of my favorite and I cannot wait to read The Boy Most Likely To. Also I didn’t know that Huntley has majored in Lit 🙂 Great post 🙂

  3. That’s really great advice to writers. The reading and uncorrected journal. I got the reading part down! Can’t wait for the sequellllll!!!

  4. That makes sense that My Life Next Door was slightly inspired by Romeo and Juliet. I’m glad she went with a happier direction.☺ I’m so excited for The Boy Most Likely To!! Tim’s story is going to be amazing, I just know it!

    Thank you for being a part of this event.☺

  5. I’m really anxious to read this book. I’ve heard nothing but great things about it. I love E.B. White too!! It seems that writing arguments and missed connections would be difficult, but I’m sure you did a great job capturing them. Wonderful interview!

  6. Wonderful interview. I haven’t read My Life Next Door yet, but I did buy it last month and plan to read it soon. I am even more excited to read it after reading this interview! And excited that there will be a sequel!
    I find it interesting that it was hard to write the arguments. And I totally understand why it would be hard. I hate when characters let each other down, but I know it is a part of life and it happens. And I love Sarah Dessen. I haven’t read many of the other authors listed, I will have to check into them. (Haven’t even read any John Green).
    And I love the advice! Especially: “Finish everything you start”.

  7. I tried to read My Life Next Door about a year ago, but couldn’t connect with the main character. However, it was really interesting to see how connected Huntley was to the characters she writes and what inspired her to write about the book. And I’m still going to look forward to the next book, since I like to try to keep an open mind about new books-even if I didn’t quite enjoy their previous book 🙂
    Thanks for the interview!

  8. I can’t wait for The Boy Most Likely To! I love Huntley’s writing and it is so insightful to know that you don’t like writing arguments. I think that might be fun to write but I’m not a writer either so I wouldn’t know. Thanks to Huntley for the great interview and to you all for hosting!

Leave a Reply

