Review: Burning Kingdoms by Lauren DeStefano

Title: Burning Kingdoms
Author: Lauren DeStefano
Publication Date: March 10, 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Dystopian, Fantasy
Series: The Internment Chronicles #2
Rating: 3.5/5

Danger descends in the second book of The Internment Chronicles, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Chemical Garden trilogy.

After escaping Internment, Morgan and her fellow fugitives land on the ground to finally learn about the world beneath their floating island home.

The ground is a strange place where water falls from the sky as snow, and people watch moving pictures and visit speakeasies. A place where families can have as many children as they want, their dead are buried in vast gardens of bodies, and Internment is the feature of an amusement park.

It is also a land at war.

Everyone who fled Internment had their own reasons to escape their corrupt haven, but now they’re caught under the watchful eye of another king who wants to dominate his world. They may have made it to the ground, but have they dragged Internment with them?

Burning Kingdoms is the sequel to Perfect Ruin. If you do not wish to have the sequel spoiled, I would advise you to stop reading now. If you are interested in my review of Perfect Ruin, please click here.

My Thoughts . . .

When I read Perfect Ruin, I not only admired DeStefano’s writing style, but also the incredible world she created. It was magical. However, upon reading Burning Kingdoms, my expectations were not fully met and I lost a sense of that magic I felt from the first book.

First of all, the beginning was very slow. I found myself dragging through each page, instead of tearing through it. The plot was still interesting, but it appears the whimsicalness of Internment was lost once the main characters fell to the ground. I do appreciate the similarities (that I personally found) between the ground and our world, but it lost that otherworldliness that I loved from Perfect Ruin.

I also found parts of the book to jump from one point to another, and did not find everything to be clear. Since the characters made their way to the ground, it would have been nice if they were able to explore more and possibly uncover more about the kingdom they ended up in. I truly hope my questions are answered and things are cleared up in the next book.

Regarding the characters, I wish we heard more from Lex, Alice, and Judas. We did get some great scenes from these characters that put a spin on things, but it left me wanting more. I absolutely adore the characters from this series! I did enjoy seeing friendships develop between the Piper children and the characters from Internment. It left me believing that despite coming from different worlds, they were able to set their differences aside and come together. I also loved seeing Morgan, Pen, and Celeste grow as characters (though Pen annoyed me at times with her tonic consumption); but seeing the three of them mature and handle difficult situations further proved how much they love Internment despite its downfalls. In the end, no kingdom or world is perfect.

Once I reached the climax, I found myself tearing through the book, eager to find out what would happen next. I read the rest of the book in one sitting. That was when the book finally held my full attention and so much action and drama was taking place.

Favorite Quote . . .

I love DeStefano’s writing style, but one quote that stood out the most to me was:

“‘How is it that there are two worlds–one in the sky and one on the ground–and I forever feel that I have nowhere to go?’ I ask” (pg. 237)

Overall . . .

I was very excited to read Burning Kingdoms and although it did not meet up to my expectations as I wished, the cover is absolutely stunning and I am still intrigued to read the next book. I love DeStefano as a writer and will look forward to any of her new works.

klaudiasig1

 

 

One thought on “Review: Burning Kingdoms by Lauren DeStefano

  1. Pingback: December 2015 Wrap Up | The Observant Girl Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

