Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

Title: Ugly Love
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publication Date: August 5, 2014
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Series: Standalone
Rating: 5/5

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.
Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.

 

My Thoughts . . .

I absolutely adore Colleen Hoover and all of her novels I have read so far (only four so far, but still counting ;)). Ugly Love is no exception. Words cannot even begin to describe how much I love this novel. I could not stop reading it, so I read it all in one day. I loved Tate and Miles and how much these characters grow throughout the course of this novel. That is one thing I love about Hoover’s novels: how much the characters grow and their ability to overcome unbelievable obstacles.

It is so difficult for me to put my thoughts down into coherent words. I just finished this novel, it’s two o’clock in the morning, but I have to somehow wrap my mind around what I just read. I am afraid to reveal too much, so I will keep my thoughts brief. I loved reading the chapters from Miles’ perspective from six years ago; it provided the reader a glimpse into his past when Miles was too afraid to relive it in the present. Although I was partially correct as to what happened to Miles, it still blew me away and left me crying. I don’t always cry when I read books, but Miles’ story moved me emotionally and I could not help the tears running down my face and the lump I felt in my throat. The ending is so beautiful; I do not recall reading an ending that left me so happy and satisified. It provided a glimpse into the future and still allowed the reader to let their imagination run wild. I felt closure when I read the last sentence and it tied back to the title perfectly.

Favorite Quote . . .

The last sentence is my abolutely favorite quote:

“It’s the beautiful moments like these that make up for the ugly love” (pg. 322)

Overall . . .

This book will take you on a rollarcoaster of emotions, but it is definitely worth it. Colleen Hoover has a way with words and her stories are so incredible, real, and filled with raw emotion. If you have not read any of her novels yet, I highly recommend you do so as soon as possible. She is one of a few authors whose works I will always read and I look forward to reading the rest of Hoover’s published novels.

*Please be aware that this novel does contain mature themes*

klaudiasig1

3 thoughts on “Review: Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover

  1. Pingback: December 2015 Wrap Up | The Observant Girl Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

